2014.01.25 tdc748

Assignment: Dig with a Golden Shovel. This form was invented by Terrance Hayes in his poem The Golden Shovel, in which he created a homage to Gwendolyn Brooks by using each word of her poem as the last word in each line of his poem. Camille Dungy wrote her own version, also using Brooks’ poem: http://www.poets.org/viewmedia.php/prmMID/23832.

 

 

Cold of Winter

It’s a cold and wintry day, said I,
no time to celebrate.
Sit at home all by myself,
or venture out and
listen to the winter poets sing.

I often wonder to myself
what life would be like here and
there, or what
I
might assume
about you,
were it to be true – shall
you also assume
about me? For
all of it, every
speck of atom
that makes me feel this longing, belonging-
reaching out to
find a me,
a me as
well or good
or true; to find that creeping need belongs
inside of me, to
remind me of you.

(Reference Poem: Life by Walt Whitman)

(Image from: http://www.desktopict.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/Winter-Scene-Wallpapers.jpg)

Leave a Reply

